Agar-agar is made on the basis of seaweed. It is used in Japan as a plant-based and natural gelling agent and hence, is a great alternative to gelatine, which is derived from animal products. It can be diluted very easily and it has an absolutely neutral taste.
Ingredients: agar-agar from organic farming.
How to use: agar-agar can be used in jellies, jam, desserts, aspics, etc. The acidity in your dish impacts the gelling process: acid preparations need a bit more Agar-agar. Do not combine Agar-agar with chocolate or kiwi, as they will neutralise its gelling effect. For jam: 4g Agar-agar powder for 1kg of cleaned fruit or 1l of fruit juice. Bring the fruit and the Agar-agar to a boil and add the sweetener of your choice. Let it boil until it reaches the desired consistency.